Dissertation Trax

The sharp eyed amongst you may have noticed our absence over the past few months. Sorry about that. As the internet didn’t seem in pressing need of any more words and my dissertation did, I focused on that. I don’t know what Ollie was doing. Maybe working on some original material?

Anyway, my summer listening has been mainly shaped by whatever is bland enough to work to. Barely any lyrics and absolutely nothing that held any danger of any shout outs. Lots of releases on Digitalis Recordings. I can’t count how many times I stuck ‘Luminaries and Synastry (2011)‘ on.

Mississippi Maulers – My Angeline (1928)

Released in 1928, this joyful bit of dust-covered heat provided a perfect accompaniment to many an afternoon of archive trawling at the BFI library. Admittedly it was outside my period by a year but a lot can be forgiven for a honking mellophone solo like that.

Linda Perhacs – Chimacun Rain (1970)

Sometimes it rained. Sometimes I thought about the rain. Sometimes I thought about what the rain might feel like on my face were I to leave the airless, windowless room in the BFI’s basement and go outside.

Machine Drum – Lay me Down (2011)

I’m not really one for redrafting and redrafting. The first take is often the best take. That’s what Machinedrum does too apparently.

Leave a comment

  • Contact johnek.bloomfield@btinternet.com oli@warm-music.com for music/bookings
  • Contact
    gareth.r.spencer@gmail.com
    for Secret Danger photos